Personal pronouns

Hey, my dear pupils! 🙂

Pronouns are words which replace nouns.

They make longer conversation or narration smoother by allowing the speaker to not have to repeat the names of people, places and things. For example, in referring to a group of friends, one would use “they” instead of listing all their names (Randy, Laura, Matt and Emily) over and over again.

We can also divide them into two groups: subject and object pronouns. Subject pronouns replace subjects (the thing that does the verb) while pronouns replace objects (the thing that the verb is done to).

Let’s watch the video below to understand it better!

Examples:

I am talking about the game with Alice.
I am talking about the game with her.

Can John, Heather and I go over to the general store?
Can we go over to the general store?

Can we go to see the movie later?
Can we go to see it later?

Has Mr. Presley seen the new business model?
Has he seen the new business model?

Now it is time to try some exercises in order to verify your learning!

Anything you need, just tell me, OK? 🙂

4 thoughts on “Personal pronouns

  1. Ewerton says:

    Teacher, I appreciated this post. It’s very important remember and practice “old subjects”. We use them all the time. they are important to improve our writing and speaking, in my opinion.

    Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    • mirellenascimento says:

      Hi!!
      I’m really glad to see you stopped by. 🙂
      Well, I’m an ESL speaker too, rs. I have been teaching, but I never stop learning.
      I’ve really enjoyed your blog, too. Your writing has been recommended to my students by me.
      Thanks a lot for your comment. It encourages me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

