A Thousand Years

A Thousand Years” is a song by American singer-songwriter Christina Perri and David Hodges. It is taken from the album The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn — Part 1: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack. The song serves as the second single from the album and it was released as a digital download on October 18, 2011 worldwide.

It was a huge success, once the melody is extremely adorable. However, something surprising happened. The song was covered by contestants Sam Alves and Marcela Bueno on the second season of The Voice Brasil. Well, and what happened? Perri kindly twitttered about it!!!!

Sem título2

She called it “her favorite cover so far”. It reached the top of iTunes Brazil, selling over 30,000 copies in Brazil while the original version has sold 15,000. 🙂 Read more.

Well, proud of this (and also because today is Valentine’s Day in Brazil!), here is the original version for you to listen and sing. And this is Sam and Marcela’s version.

Write in the comments: which one is your favorite?

Mine? Rs. I’ll tell you later!

6 thoughts on “A Thousand Years

  1. marcela says:

    Despite the couple in Brazilian duel sings very well, the singer Christina Perri turns the music on a journey of dreams and love which I prefer.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ewerton Paranhos says:

    Oooh My. I think it is perfect to weddings. because it is the reason to get married: I will love you for a thousand more! However, I prefer the original song, The brazilian singers made a beautiful performance, but i don1t know, When Christina Perri sings, she can show all her feelings and Brazilian singers were in a competition, They would have done perfectly to avoid an elimination.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mirellenascimento says:

      Oh, dear! Thanks for your comment!
      In fact, I’m surprised by your comment because I had never thought abouit this! So cool! And it DOES make sense!
      I really wanted to have it played during my ceremony but the priest did not allow me, rs. But that’s OK, really!
      Congratulations on your way of expressing yourself in the English language!
      🙂
      Have an awesome day!

      Like

  3. Nilmara says:

    This music is beautiful, was very used in the last two years at weddings. Other singer I very like is Alanis Mouriset, she has musics fantastic… I like the song You Learn, I also like the song, The Perfect Life the Moby.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mirellenascimento says:

      Hi, dear! Thanks for your comment!
      You’re right! I’ve been to some weddings where I could listen to it!
      I also LOVE her songs! Very nice suggestions!!!!! Thanks a lot, dear!
      Have a great day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

